Sponsor us!

Useful Information

Domestic Violence and Abuse

Pennine Domestic Abuse Partnership – www.pdap.co.uk – 0800 052 7222
Womens Aid – national charity supporting women – www.womensaid.org.uk
Route to Support – website showing domestic abuse services near you –  www.routestosupport.org//Login.aspx
Hidden Hurt – domestic abuse information – www.hiddenhurt.co.uk 
Rights of Women – legal advice and information -: www.rightsofwomen.org.uk 
End FGM Campaignwww.endfgm.eu
National Centre for Domestic Violencewww.ncdv.org.uk – 0800 970 2070
Forced Marriage Unit – www.haloproject.org.uk/forced-marriage-unit-W21page-31 – 020 7008 0151
Southall Black Sisterswww.southallblacksisters.org.uk – 020 8571 9595
Karma Nirvana – charity working to end honour based violence –  www.karmanirvana.org.uk – 0800 5999 247
Imkaan –charity supporting violence against black and minoritised women – www.imkaan.org.uk – 020 7842 8525
National Aid Helpline – support for domestic abuse – www.nationaldahelpline.org.uk – 0808 2000 247
Wakefield District Domestic Abuse Service www.wakefieldchildcare.proceduresonline.com/p_wddas_ref.html – 0800 915 1561
Centre for Women’s Justice – Legal Advice – www.centreforwomensjustice.org.uk 

Other Sexual Violence Support

Rape Crisis – www.rapecrisis.org.uk – 0800 802 9999
Womens Centre – www.womencentre.org.uk01484 450806 (Huddersfield) – 01422 386500 (Halifax) – 07590 445846 (Dewsbury)
Respond- Service for abused children with learning difficulties – www.respond.org.uk – 0845 606 1503
Victim Support- www.victimsupport.org.uk – 0300 303 1971
The Hazlehurst Centre SARCwww.hazlehurstcentre.org – 0330 223 3617

Vulnerable women offenders and crime

Women In Prison – support to women in prison – www.womeninprison.org.uk – 020 7359 6674

Children and Young People

CHYPS – Our children and young people’s site – www.chyps.co.uk 
The Hide Out – Domestic Violence Support – www.thehideout.org.uk 
Childline – www.childline.org.uk – 0800 1111
NSPCC – www.nspcc.org.uk – 0808 800 5000
Night Owlswww.lslcs.org.uk/services/night-owls-helpline/ – 0808 800 1212
Young Minds – Mental Health Support – www.youngminds.org.uk – Text – 85258

Mental Health and Counselling

Mind – Mental Health Charity – www.mind.org.uk – 0300 123 3393
Mental Health Foundation www.mentalhealth.org.uk
Find a counsellorbacp.co.uk
The Samaritans – www.samaritans.org – 116 123 – jo@samaritans.org.uk
Shout Crisis Text Line www.giveusashout.org – 85258
Counselling Directory – www.counselling-directory.org.uk
IAPTwww.southwestyorkshire.nhs.uk/services/iapt-kirklees/ – 01484 343700
BEAT – Eating Disorder Service – www.beateatingdisorders.org.uk – 0808 801 0677

Asylum Seekers

Desitute Asylum Seekers Huddersfield – DASH www.huddsdash.org – 07702 382647 – 07926 457599
Government Asylum Support – www.gov.uk/asylum-support
Salvation Army – www.salvationarmy.org.uk/supporting-refugees/asylum-seeker-support – 0207 367 4500
Migrant Help – www.migranthelpuk.org/pages/category/asylum – 0808 8010 503

Links for Men

Respect – Mens advice line – www.mensadviceline.org.uk – 0808 8010327
Respect – Domestic Violence Against Men – www.respect.uk.net
Mankind – Domestic Violence Support for Men – www.mankind.org.uk – 01823 334244
Ben’s Placesurvivorswestyorkshire.org.uk – Ops@survivorswestyorkshire.org.uk – 07393 140250 – https://youtu.be/cj2WD0JUj-0, https://youtu.be/joL_yJG7VnM

Foodbank

The Mission Cafe (Huddersfield) – www.huddersfieldmission.org.uk/mission-cafe/ – 01484 421461
Calderdale Food Support – 01422 647390
St Catherine’s Church (Wakefield) www.stcatherines-wakefield.org.uk/community-activities/ – 01924 211130

Gender and Sexuality

Galop – Domestic violence support in same-sex relationships – www.galop.org.uk – 0800 999 5428
Lesbian and Gay Foundation – 0345 3 30 30 30

Recovery

CHART Huddersfield Alcohol Services – 01484 437907
CHART Huddersfield Drug Services – 01484 353333
CHART Dewsbury Alcohol Services – 01924 486170
CHART Dewsbury Drug Services – 01924 438383
CHART Recovery – www.kirkleesinrecovery.com/services/chart-kirklees
Calderdale Recovery Steps – www.calderdalerecoverysteps.org – 01422 415550
Inspiring Recovery (Wakefield) – www.turning-point.co.uk/services/wakefield – 0300 123 1912
OK Rehabwww.okrehab.org – 0800 326 5559

Housing

Fusion Housing (Kirklees) – www.fusionhousing.org.uk – 01484 425522
Housing Associations in Kirklees – www.kirklees.gov.uk/beta/housing/housing-associations.aspx
Horton Housing (Kirklees and Calderdale) – www.hortonhousing.co.uk – 01274 370689
Housing Associations in Calderdale – www.calderdale.gov.uk/v2/residents/housing/find-home/housing-associations
Foundation –www.foundationuk.org – 0113 303 0150
Housing Needs Service (Wakefield) – www.wakefield.gov.uk/housing/housing-in-the-wakefield-district/finding-a-new0home/housing-for-vulnerable-adults – 01924 304360

Sexual Health

Locala (Kirklees) – www.locala.org.uk/services/sexual-health/ – 0300 304 5555
Calderdale Sexual Health www.sexualhealth.cht.nhs.uk – 01422 261370
Spectrum Sexual Health (Wakefield) – www.spectrumhealth.org.uk – 0800 121 4860

Finances

Citizens Advice – www.citizensadvice.org.uk
Kirklees – 0808 2787896
– Calderdale – 0300 330 9048
Wakefield – 03444 111 444

Safeguarding

Social Care Direct (Wakefield) – www.wakefield.gov.uk – 0345 8 503 503
Social Services (Kirklees) – www.kirklees.gov.uk – 01484 414933
Social Care Services (Calderdale) – www.calderdale.gov.uk01422 288000
Crisis Team (Kirklees and Calderdale) – 01924 316830
Crisis Team (Wakefield) – 01924 316900
Duty and Advice Team – Concern for child:
– Kirklees – 01484 456848
Wakefield – 0345 8503 503
– Calderdale – 01422 393336
In an emergency call 999

The courage to be me book

‘The courage to be me’ created by Dr Nina Burrowes is an ‘illustrated story about courage, self-compassion and hope after rape or sexual abuse. The book combines science, story telling and illustration to send a message of hope to the millions of people who are living with the impact of rape and sexual abuse’.

It has received high reviews and continues to be a useful resource 6 years after publication.

The book is available to buy and is also available for free via

Dr Nina Burrowes website:

https://ninaburrowes.com/books/the-courage-to-be-me/

Our Helpline Support Service

We are here to listen, to believe you without judgement and can offer support and advice to victim-survivors, family members, friends and partners, as well as signposting and referring to other appropriate services.

0300 303 4787